

WV Adult Education Association, Inc. Annual Business Meeting, Thurs., 9/14/23 at 8:00 AM

Salon A/B at the Charleston Marriott

Attendance: Amanda Cooper, Amy Yeater, Ann Mueller, Anne Mezzanotte, Benitez Jackson, Bridget Covell, Chanda Perry, Deanna Addis, Earl Sturm, Elizabeth Jarrett, Emily Russell, Erica Asbury, Gail Adams, Jill Okes-Kincade, John Holmes, Judy Houck-Eli, Julie Hagan, Kari Geary, Ken Cedar, Kim McConnaughy, Kimberly Pickens, Kristi Briggs, Lucy Lester, Melissa Everly, Mendy Marshall, Misty Dawson, Nicole Manuel, Ray Rappold, Reka Rowan, Robin Haupt, Sandra Adkins, Serena Brafford, Susan Ellison, Tammy Toney, Terry Branch, Tina White, Todd Murray, Wendy Mick

Welcome & Introduction of Executive Committee

 Tina White called the meeting to order. The executive committee introduced themselves – Kim McConnaughy, executive director, Tina White, president, Kari Geary, vice-president, Anne Mezzanotte, Treasurer, Amanda Cooper, secretary.

Review of Sept. 14, 2022 Annual Meeting Minutes

Tina White asked for a motion to accept the minutes. Julie Hagan made a motion to accept.
 Robin Haupt seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Treasurer's Report

- Anne Mezzanotte's treasurer report as of 9/6/23:
 - \$42,699.33 in the checking account, \$17,329.56 in CDs. Anne reminded everyone to leave their copies of the report at their seats. Sandra Adkins moved to accept the treasurers report. Tammy Toney seconded. The motion passed.
- Approve Annual COABE Group Membership:
 - o Misty Dawson motioned to approve, Chanda Perry motioned to accept. Motion passed.

Committee Reports:

- 2023 Fall Conference Summary & Membership:
 - Kari Geary informed us that 206 attendees registered for this year's conference. Last year we only had 148. We also had 17 vendors. Thank you to Robin for making that happen. 180 accepted WVAEA membership. Membership includes the option to apply for grants and you automatically get membership to COABE.
- 2024 Conference Arrangements:
 - o 9/9-13 at Stonewall. Solid dates within that week will be decided in the future.
- 2023 Awards Summary:
 - Tina White discussed our excellent ceremony yesterday and how many inspiration students we have had in the last year.

New Business:

- Legislative Representative Status:
 - Kim McConnaughy briefly explained the role of our liaison. We split the cost evenly between AE and PST. We will discuss the renewal at the next board meeting.
- Adult Ed Day at the Legislature:
 - We attended on two days March 2 & 3, 2023

- We plan to join CTE for 2024's day at the legislature. No date has been set yet.
- Status of WVAEA Grant Awards (Oct. Sept.):
 - Anne Mezzanotte informed us that we have given 19 Hollingsworth Special Event Grants (\$6056.95), 6 AE/Literacy Supplement (\$1600), 7 AE PD reimbursement (\$1890), and 2 higher ed. student support grants (\$500).
 - Individuals/programs apply online. Wendy Mick approves the applications. Anne
 Mezzanotte sends the checks. Anne suggested applying a month in advance to make sure
 you get your funds on time.
- COABE Update:
 - Lucy Lester, State Advocate for Adult Education Fellowship, explained that members of the fellowship work with legislators and with other states.
 - COABE National Conference March 17-20, 2024 in Nashville, TN: Lucy told us that you can apply for grants to attend. She encourages everyone to go.
 - Adult Education Proclamation Status w/Governor Justice: Lucy explained that this is signed every year for WVAE week.
- 2023 Slate of Nominees & Election Process from Wendy Mick, Board Development Chair:
 - Nominees are:
 - Secretary: Chanda Perry
 - Treasurer: Anne Mezzanotte
 - Board: Misty Dawson, Benitez Jackson, Earl Sturm
 - Board Development Committee: Wendy Mick
 - o Julie Hagan moved to accept the nominees, Amy Yeater seconded.
 - There is a QR code to scan and vote. It opens at 9:00 AM. The code will be sent out via listserv with a link to vote.

Other Business:

- The voting for WVAEA positions was open from Thursday, 9/14/2023 at 9:00 AM through Monday 9/18/2023 at 4:00 PM. The election results were announced on Tuesday, 9/19/2023. The winners are:
 - Secretary Chanda Perry
 - Treasurer Anne Mezzanotte
 - o Board of Directors Benitez Jackson, Misty Dawson, Earl Sturm
 - o Board Development Committee Wendy Mick

Motion to Adjourn

 Sandra Adkins, made a motion to adjourn, Earl Sturm, seconded motion to adjourn. Meeting was adjourned.