WV Adult Education Association, Inc. **Annual Business Meeting Charleston Marriott September 14, 2022**

In attendance: Gail Adams, Deanna Addis, Sandra Adkins, Dr. Tim Anderson, Erica Asbury, Serena Brafford, Terry Branch, Kristi Briggs, Ken Cedar, Misty Dawson, Jennifer Donaho, Susan Ellison, Melissa Everly, Kari Geary, Emily Gibson, Lee Ann Gore, Julie Hagan, Mary Harper, Robin Haupt, John Holmes, Judy Houck-Eli, Chase Ingram, Benitez Jackson, Elizabeth Jarrett, Neavoda Judy, Malyka Knapp-Smith, Nicole Manuel, Mendy Marshall, Kim McConnaughy, Hollie McIntyre-McGilton, Anne Mezzanotte, Wendy Mick, Stacy Miller, Ann Mueller, Todd Murray, Nick Northup, Chanda Perry, Kim Pickens, Ray Rappold, Beth Ayling (Rehberger), Emily Russell, Mark Smith, Elizabeth Spring, Jessica Stricklen, Tammy Toney, Cindy West, Dominica West, Tina White, Karen Wojcik, Mike York

Welcome: President Julie Hagan welcomed those present and called the meeting to order at 8:03am. The Executive Committee introduced themselves and their jobs with WVAEA.

Secretary's report: The minutes from last year's September 15 meeting were passed out and read. Sandra Adkins made a motion to accept the minutes as read. Dr. Tim Anderson seconds. All in favor.

Treasurer's Report: The treasurer's report as of August 30, 2022 was passed out and collected. There is \$72,464.28 in our checking account. Our three CD's have a total of \$17,229.77. Tina White made a motion to accept the report and Nick Northup seconded. All in favor.

C

well.

Committee Reports:
-2022 Fall Conference Summary & Membership Update
-2023 Conference Arrangements Kari Geary reported that there is one more year left on our contract with the Marriott.
-2022 Awards Summary
Old Business:
-Legislative Representative Status Kim McConnaughy reported that Loarie Butcher who is our legislative liaison sends weekly and/or monthly updates. During the session, she sends an update more frequently. WVAEA shares the cost with PST because she also works for them. We plan to renew our contract with Loarie for the 2023 session

-Status of WVAEA Grant Awards...... Anne Mezzanotte reported there were seven special event grants awarded, 10 program supplement, three pd/literacy, and three student support grants. Only a couple requests over the past year was denied and that was because the teacher requesting had reached the allotment. Kim McConnaughy will be recommending to rename the Special Event grant the "Hollingsworth Scholarship" to honor David and Kathy Hollingsworth who were

-Day at the Legislature...... Kim McConnaughy-This past year, WVAEA squeezed in with CTE and had a lot of traffic. Our plan for 2023 is to attend the same day as CTE because it worked out

instrumental in creating WVAEA. Julie Hagan reminded the group that if a teacher did not register for conference, they will need to pay for the WVAEA membership in order to receive these grants.

COABE Update:

- Kari Geary reported that COABE National Conference will be April 2-5, 2023 in Atlanta, GA. You
 will be receiving an email with COABE Member ID#. Kari reviewed that you can use your COABE
 membership # for webinars. Visit the coabe website for more events and information.
- Approve COABE Group Membership \$1,200-Neavoda Judy made a motion to approve and Beth Ayling seconded. All in favor.
- New COABE Fellowship Liaison is Jennifer Donaho—Jennifer explained that she is a liaison between our state Adult Ed. and COABE. She is learning a lot about representing AE on local/state/and national platforms. This year, Jennifer is working on a proclamation from Jim Justice for a day next week to be Adult Education day. Jennifer and Beth Rehberger met with Representative Rucker to discuss legislation for an Adult Education taskforce. Please see Jennifer or Beth with any questions.

New Business:

* 2022 Election Process & Slate of Nominees Wendy Mick, Board Dev Chair reported about the nomination process. There will be a listserv message sent out with a link to vote. Voting closes on Friday. Please be sure to vote. *The open positions are-President(Tina White), Vice President(Kari Geary and Robin Haupt) and three board members (Malyka Knapp Smith, Liz Johnson, Chanda Perry). All of the people nominated are in good standing with the association. There were no nominations from the floor. All positions are for a 3-year term effective January 1, 2023.

Other Business: None

<u>Motion to Adjourn:</u> Sandra Adkins made a motion to adjourn, Tina White seconded. All in favor. Meeting adjourned.

*Election Results: President - Tina White

Vice President – Kari Geary

Board Members – Malyka Knapp-Smith, Liz Johnson, Chanda Perry