

WVAEA Board of Directors Meeting

Tuesday, December 15, 2020 @ 11:00 am

## Microsoft TEAMS

- Attending: Amanda Cooper, Anne Mezzanotte, Carla Mullins, John Holmes, Julie Hagan, Kari Geary, Kim McConnaughy, Nick Northup, Robin Haupt, Shawn Cook, Tina White
- Call to Order Julie called the meeting to order.
- Approval of Minutes
  - Nick made a motion to approve the minutes. Robin seconded. The motion carried.
- Treasurer's Report
  - Anne: As of today (12/15/2020) there is \$72,000 in the checking account. There are a few payments we are still waiting to receive.
- Old Business
  - <u>Review of Grant Application Process Carla:</u> Everything from 2020 on is approved for Adult Education instructors. We have approved four for the fiscal year.
- New Business
  - <u>Conference 2021 Update / Membership Kari:</u> Since we canceled this year the Marriott tacked another year on to the end of our contract. At this point we do not know what the 2021 conference will look like, however. Due to the circumstances and the fact that we are education-based the Marriott is being flexible. WVAEA Membership is a little over 200. WVAEA membership also provides membership in COABE.
  - Legislative Updates Kim: Approve 2021 Legislative Agreement with Loarie Butcher. Loarie monitors and provides updates regarding legislature activity that relates to adult education and PST. The fee is \$5,000 and is split between PST and AE. Motion to approve the 2021 legislative agreement from Nick. Second from Anne. The motion passed. All days at the legislature including WVAEA are canceled this year. Teachers will receive classroom activities/resources to use regarding the legislature.
  - <u>Announcement of 2020 Election Results Julie</u>: Amanda Cooper was elected Secretary. Board Members are Misty Dawson, Todd Murray, Tammy Toney plus Ann Mueller filling 1-year remaining of Leanna Hughart's term. Board Development Committee members are Wendy Mick (chair) and Kristi Briggs. Wendy, as chair, will sit on the board as well. Julie and Kim thanked outgoing members Tina White, John Holmes, and Emily Daniel.
  - <u>Revamping Standing Committees Kim</u>: Tina White has taken over as chair of the awards committee after Hollie McIntyre-McGilton stepped down. Carla will be focusing on the grant application process, so Julie will appoint a new chair of the public relations/marketing committee. Prior to that, there will be some changes to duties/responsilibities. Changes will be disseminated to board members.

 Awards Committee (new chair is Tina White)Sandra Adkins, Denise Aiken, Mendy Marshall, Nick Northup, Tammy Toney. Nomination form updated. Retirees want to continue being the review committee. Retirees also provided input regarding an alternative to a framed certificate. Research into that is ongoing. Nominations are being accepted throughout the year. Nominees will automatically be student success stories.

## • Other Business

- We will have another board meeting late Jan./early Feb. to welcome new members.
- Julie told us how awesome we are. : )

## • Motion to Adjourn

• Tina motioned to adjourn. Kim seconded. Meeting adjourned.